Vintage vs. New

May 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

So I was face with a big question, what do I keep and what do I get rid of. Since the bike was a family bike I wanted to keep it as vintage as possible. Not to mention I’m not all that hipster so a crazy bike just wouldn’t fit me. But I figured I could ride a classic anywhere, anytime. To help keep it classic I decided to keep as much as I could. With a few exceptions.

I got rid of:

  • The handlebar tape – Bought New
  • Some of the Handle Bar – Modified them to meet my needs
  • The derailleurs- Don’t need any
  • The Rims, and Tires- Upgraded to Velocity and Weimann
  • The Reflectors! – NO THANK YOU
  • The Seat – Upgraded, the seat wasn’t the original so no worries here
  • The Seat Post – Wanted Aluminum, and one that wasn’t rusty
  • The Chain – Yes
  • The inner Cogs on the front cog wheel – Don’t need them on a single speed
  • Brake Wires and Housing – Rusted so made new ones
  • The Dirt and Grime!
  • Brake Levers – Did not want my brakes on the drops on the handle bars, and wanted to keep the “fixie” look so used Cross Top Levers

I Kept:

  • The Look
  • The Paint
  • The Handle Bar (modified it)
  • Frame
  • Crank
  • Front Cog Ring
  • Pedals
  • Stem
  • Front Fork

There are lots of reasons I did what I did, and you should weight the cost of new, and the importance to you riding or just looking cool. My conversion cost me about $450 total for all of my parts. If I had kept more it would have cost a lot less, but not been as nice.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vintage vs. New at 1977 Schwinn Le Tour "Fixie" Project.

meta