New Parts

March 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

So once I had the bike stripped down I had to go and find some new parts. I had decided on what parts I wanted to buy. I was set to get some new rims, tires, tape, cables, saddle, post, and crank. I ended up not getting the crank and adding in brake levers. So it all came out about right.

Searching for the parts was the fun part. I started my search on google, and found out the different parts I wanted from just searching around and reading. Origin 8 has lots of good stuff at great prices. You can spend lots of money on these parts, but you dont have to. The truth is you don’t have to spend any, but then it’s not as fun.

Rims: I wanted to get rims, so I had no clue on where to start. I didn’t even know the term “Fixie” or “track” to know to search for those terms. I came across some rims on Amazon by AeroMax, they looked good and they were a full set of tubes, tires, rims, and free wheel for 100 bucks. I passed on them once I read a review. I came across Weimann rims and found a pair at the LBS. I ended up getting a Weimann rear wheel with origin 8 hub, and a Velocity Front wheel with the same hub. They are silver and really good looking, you almost can’t tell they are not a pair.

-150

Saddle: I looked at lots of different saddles, all under 30 bucks. I didn’t want or need a nice saddle since this wasn’t a long distance bike. So Origin 8 had a great lether saddle in my price. My LBS had it in stock.

-30

Brake Levers: These were pulled off a new Origin 8 bike in the LBS since he didn’ t have any, and I need some. They are cross top levers and look great.

-35

Cables: The LBS ordered the cable housing I needed, and the cables. I put it together at my house.

-15

Seat Post: I decided on a black seat post, and I would advice against this. It scratches easily when you are sizing so be careful.

-25

Tires: I got some Serfas Seca’s becuase of how they looked, and they are good tires.

-50

These are the price for the products online, but support your local LBS and get them there. It costs more, but you get the added service, and someone to bouce ideas off of.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Parts at 1977 Schwinn Le Tour "Fixie" Project.

meta